## Minutes from Hastings Prescott Area Arts Council Special Meeting

## Thursday May 10, 6:30 at Artspace River Lofts

(Board members present: Scott Northard, Bill Spinelli, Dave Warg, Jen Fox, Char Vick, Dick Graham, and Diane Saed)

- Scott Northard summarized the consultant resignation of Jeff & Robin, citing miscommunication. When a
  face to face meeting was requested, the request was denied, stating that "We can't work together."
  Second and third payments of \$2500 each will not be paid.
- Board members present discussed and concurred with the member opinion survey commenting that communication and vision issues need to be addressed and clarified, with a focus on following Robert's Rules of Order. In summary, board members noted concerns and will address those concerns at upcoming meetings, and the retreat.
- 3. ANNUAL MEETING IS SET FOR JUNE 5<sup>TH</sup> AT THE ART SPACE LOFTS, 6:30 P.M. NEW BOARD MEMBERS WILL BE OFFICIALY ELECTED.
- 4. WELCOME OF NEW BOARD MEMBERS WILL BE DONE AT THE JULY 12<sup>TH</sup> REGULAR BOARD MEETING AT ART SPACE LOFTS, 6:30 P.M.
- 5. Items 3 and 4 Motion by Bill Spinelli and seconded by Scott Northard.
- 6. A board retreat will be planned by Scott Northard in mid-July, after new board members and officers are selected. Scott Northard has put together "Steps for On-Boarding new HPAAC Board Members".
- 7. Dave Warg, Scott Northard, and Diane Saed will draw up a slate of officers to be voted upon at the July 12th board meeting.
- These standing committees will be asked to summarize their activities and progress at the June 5<sup>th</sup> meeting; new board members will be asked at that time to participate in these committees: Finance, Communications, Orange Dragon, Program, Development/Gala, and a proposed "Community" Committee (Char Vick).
- 9. Current Board : \* = retiring board members

*Dick Graham	Libby Unger
*Diane Saed	Kathleen Hanson
*Mark Borchardt	Scott Northard
*Char Vick	Bill Spinelli
David Warg	Jen Fox

10. The nominating committee for board officers will meet Wednesday, May 16<sup>th</sup>, at 9:00 a.m. at Scott Northard's home. Committee members are: Scott Northard, Diane Saed, and David Warg.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Diane Saed.